3 Reasons I Do Not Want To Be ‘Great’

thVRREBBBR

 

Some Doubts about ‘Greatness’

For some years now, it’s been pushed in some faith sectors, to be great, or to love who you are right now, or who you are right now is enough, etc.  They have been dressed up as truth from Scripture, but I think they are lies. Lies that keep us from seeking Hashems purpose, righteousness and plan.

  • If we’re ‘great as we are right now’ then why would we seek to better ourselves?
  • If we’re ‘great’ already, then what need is there to improve our life, in any degree?
  • If we’re ‘great and love ourselves right here’ then what drive do we have to becoming more and more like Hashem daily?

3 Reasons To Not Be Great

I think the focus is wrong. We shouldn’t be seeking greatness…but rather we should be seeking righteousness, holiness and to be set apart. That is our purpose and our enough.

  1. I don’t want to be great, I want holiness. I want to be holy, because my Master is holy. Lev 19:2, ““Speak to all the congregation of the people of Israel and say to them, You shall be holy, for I the LORD your God am holy.”
  2. I don’t want to love myself right here and now, I want to be set apart. Being set apart is a gift. Lev 20:26, “‘Thus you are to be holy to Me, for I the LORD am holy; and I have set you apart from the peoples to be Mine.” and “Deuteronomy 14:2 You have been set apart as holy to the LORD your God, and he has chosen you from all the nations of the earth to be his own special treasure.”
  3. I don’t want to be enough, I want righteousness. Being righteous means I follow Hashem, obey His Words and live according to them. Deut 32:4, “The Rock! His work is perfect, for all His ways are just; A God of faithfulness and without injustice, righteous and upright is He.”

actions favorably

Focus Moves From Self to Hashem

If you notice, the focus rightly moves away from self, self-gratification, self-service, self-confidence, to Hashem. Selflessness, dying to self, serving the Master, have a confidence in HIM alone, because honestly why would we have confidence in ourselves?! I’ve let myself down, many a time. Others have let me down. The One who never lets me down, is the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. I’d rather place my need or desire for greatness, into His hands, and ask Him to show me what is best for me.

How Can I Be…

How, then, can I be set apart, holy, righteous? So glad you asked! 🙂

Holy in Hebrew

Holy and set apart usually go hand in hand, and in most cases are one in the same. Here is the Hebrew definition of the words, from eSword.

H6942
קדשׁ
qâdash
BDB Definition:
1) to consecrate, sanctify, prepare, dedicate, be hallowed, be holy, be sanctified, be separate
1a) (Qal)
1a1) to be set apart, be consecrated
1a2) to be hallowed
1a3) consecrated, tabooed
1b) (Niphal)
1b1) to show oneself sacred or majestic
1b2) to be honoured, be treated as sacred
1b3) to be holy
1c) (Piel)
1c1) to set apart as sacred, consecrate, dedicate
1c2) to observe as holy, keep sacred
1c3) to honour as sacred, hallow
1c4) to consecrate
1d) (Pual)
1d1) to be consecrated
1d2) consecrated, dedicated
1e) (Hiphil)
1e1) to set apart, devote, consecrate
1e2) to regard or treat as sacred or hallow
1e3) to consecrate
1f) (Hithpael)
1f1) to keep oneself apart or separate
1f2) to cause Himself to be hallowed (of God)
1f3) to be observed as holy
1f4) to consecrate oneself
Part of Speech: verb
A Related Word by BDB/Strong’s Number: a primitive root

**************

 

H6663
צדק
tsâdaq
BDB Definition:
1) to be just, be righteous
1a) (Qal)
1a1) to have a just cause, be in the right
1a2) to be justified
1a3) to be just (of God)
1a4) to be just, be righteous (in conduct and character)
1b) (Niphal) to be put or made right, be justified
1c) (Piel) justify, make to appear righteous, make someone righteous
1d) (Hiphil)
1d1) to do or bring justice (in administering law)
1d2) to declare righteous, justify
1d3) to justify, vindicate the cause of, save
1d4) to make righteous, turn to righteousness
1e) (Hithpael) to justify oneself
Part of Speech: verb
A Related Word by BDB/Strong’s Number: a primitive root

***************

So many things can be taken from these two words alone. With the risk of over simplifying what it means to be holy, set apart and righteous, I will attempt to sum it up for myself, and you.

To dedicate and consecrate myself to Hashem. To be just in conduct and character, to seek to save others, and to bring justice.

 

This is a tall order, and a worthy purpose, don’t you think? To love Him with all my heart, mind and soul, and to love others as myself.  Maybe that sounds familiar?

 

Matthew 22:37-40 Tree of Life Version (TLV)

37 And He said to him, “‘You shall love Adonai your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 The entire Torah and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

 

Further, I think more of my answer is found in verse 40, above. The HOW. How do I love/obey Hashem? How do I love my neighbor? It’s all found within the Torah and Prophets. The nitty-gritty details, the ‘Dummies’ version, if you will. (because I’m dense mostly, and slow to do new things, I freely admit it!!!!!)

misty_plank

I don’t want greatness…I want to serve Him. I won’t except ‘enough’ when there is always somethin to be improved upon. I don’t want to love myself as I am, because I’m called to more righteousness. I won’t be SO gracious of myself, that I forget to keep seeking Him, to keep repenting, to keep turning back.

May I always seek Him above myself, giving Him His due glory and acknowledgement.

Shalom, friends. May His peace be with you!

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

