Shalom

Shalom, a common greeting among Jewish people, meaning peace.

I used to think it meant something similar to Aloha. I’ve recently found that it means so much MORE…a complete peace.

shalom

The first time shalom is used in the Scriptures is Genesis 15:15, when Yah spoke to Abraham, contextually speaking, I’ll share verses 12-16

12 Now when the sun was going down, a deep sleep fell upon Abram; and behold, terror and great darkness fell upon him. 13 God said to Abram, “Know for certain that your descendants will be strangers in a land that is not theirs, where they will be enslaved and oppressed four hundred years. 14 But I will also judge the nation whom they will serve, and afterward they will come out with many possessions. 15 As for you, you shall go to your fathers in peace(Shalom); you will be buried at a good old age. 16 Then in the fourth generation they will return here, for the iniquity of the Amorite is not yet complete.”

The strongs number here is H7965, which shares this about the word shalowm; completeness, soundness, welfare, peace

  1. completeness (in number)

  2. safety, soundness (in body)

  3. welfare, health, prosperity

  4. peace, quiet, tranquility, contentment

  5. peace, friendship

    1. of human relationships

    2. with God especially in covenant relationship

  6. peace (from war)

  7. peace (as adjective)

 

Digging a little more

 

“In the Bible, the word shalom is most commonly used to refer to a state of affairs, one of well‑being, tranquility, prosperity, and security, circumstances unblemished by any sort of defect. Shalom is a blessing, a manifestation of divine grace.” – My Jewish Learning

“Hebrew words go beyond their spoken pronunciation. Each Hebrew word conveys feeling, intent and emotion. Shalom is more then just simply peace; it is a complete peace. It is a feeling of contentment, completeness, wholeness, well being and harmony.”- The Refiners Fire

This is not a surface peace, one which a person portrays peace, and is far from it. This is a picture of someone who is SO at rest, and trust that there is NO room for fear, anxiety or anything of that sort.

Yeshua says in John 14:27 that He leaves us with His peace, unlike the peace the world gives. This peace here is Shalom. He tells us to not be troubled, or fearful. How many times am I troubled? Or fearful? Or anxious? Worried? Too often to count, not that I could. I’m troubled by my troubling, y’all.

A Gem Of Hope And Direction

Psalm 119:165  Those who love Your torch have great shalom,
And nothing causes them to stumble.

I will leave this here for now, but I know that my study of the Scriptures is just beginning. And it’s been amazing to me, to see what He is showing me. To see that these things have been here all along.

 

Thank you for reading along with me, and if you have any insights or thoughts on Shalom, please share them below!

May He bless you with full shalom!

 

 

LOVE SHARE TIME

*I’m going to start doing something fun! At the end of each post, I’ll share another bloggers post that I think you might enjoy! I love spreading the love around.🙂 This week’s love share is: Jessica at A Crunchy Homemaker! Her latest post on 2017 goals is giving me much to pray over myself. There may, or may not be a post on that one coming up from me! 😉   (I get nothing from promoting her, her blog, or her book. Just the joy of sharing!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

