Because He Rested, We Rest

Steps To A Peaceful Shabbatphoto-1456894332557-b03dc5cf60d5

Continuing in my study of Shabbat, and how it plays out in my home, I understand that Yah has set an example for me, in that He rested from His work, His creating.

From my previous post, “He Rested“…

Genesis 2

Thus the heavens and the earth were completed, and all their hosts. By the seventh day God completed His work which He had done, and He rested on the seventh day from all His work which He had done. Then God blessed the seventh day and sanctified it, because in it He rested from all His work which God had created and made.

The word definition of “rested” in verse 2, is as follows,

שָׁבַת shâbath, shaw-bath’; a primitive root; to repose, i.e. desist from exertion; used in many implied relations (causative, figurative or specific):—(cause to, let, make to) cease, celebrate, cause (make) to fail, keep (sabbath), suffer to be lacking, leave, put away (down), (make to) rest, rid, still, take away.

What else can I do, besides putting aside work, putting aside worry and striving? How else can I make the day of rest a beautiful one?

A Well Planned Week

A good day of rest, begins with a well planned week of preparation. I found this out the hard way, last Shabbat! I didn’t have a week of prep planned, I expected to do it all on Friday. Silly me.

After consulting a lovely group of ladies about what they do, and finding that many of them planned their whole week out, to distribute their workload, I thought, what a BRILLIANT idea. Why didn’t *I* think of that?!

It All Begins On Sunday

So, if I take into account that my weeks begin on Sunday, then this should be a loose schedule of what my cleaning plans will be. Of course, planning and actuality could end up different! 😉

Sunday – Clean out refrigerator, and make a menu plan for next Shabbat and fill in snacks as needed, based on last Shabbat.

Monday – Clean bathroom really well, paying attention to details.

Tuesday – Think about Shabbat lessons, and gather what we need in one place.

Wednesday – Clean out cat box completely.

Thursday – Make Challah bread, begin soup for Erev Shabbat, clean kitchen really well.

Friday – Do spot cleaning, and any remaining prep for Shabbat. Bathe!

Enjoy a time of rest, with Yah, at His appointed time.

Gaining from Shabbat Rest

I’ve thought about what I’ve gained from observing Shabbat. A sense of peace and closeness to Yah unlike anything before, really. A knowing that I listened to His commands, His desires, in beginning this relationship with Him, has done something to my soul and mind that is hard to put into words.

I feel like I have finally entered into His rest, His presence, His glory. Yet, I know it’s just the surface!

I have found my Adoni, my Jehovah, my Abba…at long last, I have been allowed to see His beautiful Words and know Him, an answer to prayer! NOW I can see why David loved Yah so much. NOW I can see why John was so zealous for the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. And it’s STILL just the surface, as I have much to learn, much to study and I’m excited too!

 

How do you prepare for Shabbat? Do you prep all week, and keep it simple? Or do you do a marathon day?

 

 

LOVE SHARE TIME

*I’m going to start doing something fun! At the end of each post, I’ll share another bloggers post that I think you might enjoy! I love spreading the love around. 🙂 This week’s love share is: Talia from The Climbing Tree She also has a NEW book out, on Hanukkah, which you might want to check out. (I get nothing from promoting her, her blog, or her book. Just the joy of sharing!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

