Intolerance Tests & What It Means Now

Earlier this month, we sent off hair samples of the littles and ourselves, to a lab in the UK. The hair was tested for 300 food items, 300 non-food items, and 80 deficiencies. When the results came back, it was a little…okay a LOT…overwhelming to me. Naturally, some of what we’d suspected for each person, was confirmed. And of course, there were plenty of surprises.

tests

What surprised me were the amount of spices and herbs we all showed intolerances for, and these are the ones I use a lot, in our cooking and baking. So we’ll be going back to real basics, here for about 3-4 weeks!

As of right now, these are the spices/herbs/flavorings we’ll be using:

  • Lemon juice/peel
  • Garlic (powder/fresh)
  • Sea salt
  • Lime juice/peel
  • Rosemary
  • Oregano
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Red Palm Oil
  • Coconut oil

I’ll be blogging during this journey, once a week! This week, I’ll share another post, on a simple meal plan, once we’ve done shopping and I’ve done some searching!

I will do my best not to share too many details, such as who has what issue. I’d like to protect that, as much as I can.

So, as a family we’ve decided that if one person has an issue in XYZ food, then the whole family will forgo it for this duration. It will honestly make it easier for me!

Here’s a sample of what we’ll be giving up:

  • avocados
  • potatoes
  • eggs
  • ginger
  • oats
  • dairy
  • peanuts
  • onions
  • almonds
  • cacao
  • dates
  • gelatin
  • olives (including olive oil)

Many of those, we eat regularly. This is just a small bump…if this next few weeks allows us to heal at all, and help us pinpoint our issues, then it’s well worth the need for creativity!

Alrighty, friends, I’m off to check grocery store ads and get my creative hat on!

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

