What I’ve Been Reading

I love a good book review, and I’ve got 4 books here that I’ve recently purchased, and I already know what I think about them! I had to share. ๐Ÿ™‚

************************************

Give Your Child The World: Raising Globally Minded Kids One Book At a Time

Give-Your-Child-the-World

Okay, this is about sharing books with my kids, and I’m ALL over that! I love the suggestions of books that focus on cultures around the world. It’s amazing to see their interest grow and develop, through reading a book or two at a time, from one continent at a time!

*********************************************

The next three are faith based suggestions, and these may not be for everyone! But, I want to be open and honest, and some people need to see what other’s think about these. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Heart of Wisdom Teaching Approach: Bible Based Homeschooling

heart-of-wisdom-teaching-approach-

Where do I start with this one? Robin Sampson takes you through the history of education and shows you how we’ve arrived at the approach we have in the public school systems today. SHe also shows you the Hebrew approach of teaching and education, which seems a complete 180 from our Western educational model. She then walks you through the steps of making your own unit studies, and things to consider if you do make a unit study. Her website has some already made up for you, should you wish to use them! I love her book suggestions (hey…it’s books! lol) for the different age groups and subjects. This will become a valuable resource for me, in the years to come!

****************************************************

Lessons in Yeshua’s Torah

lessons-ad1

This is a great devotion reading for the whole family. It follows the weekly Torah portion readings, and give a summary, a craft or two, and a coloring sheet! There is also a memory verse to work on that week.ย  They also offer questions to ask the children, although I’m finding that at this current age (my children are almost 4 & 5) the question are a little too old for them. However, it isn’t that difficult to use them to inspire question they would understand. This is set up forย a daily reading (5 days) time, which is perfect for the homeschooler!

***********************************************

A Family Guide To the Biblical Holidays

a-family-guide-to-the-biblical-Holidays-300

The Family Guide was the first homeschool book I purchased, in our journey with Messianic Hebrew-ism. I wanted a book that taught all of us about Yahweh’s holy days. This book is full of information and suggestions, it even has a unit study section which highlights each of the holy days! (You can make it a year long study, or use it to enhance your family holy day celebrations!) Again, this book has some wonderful book suggestions, and also recipes and traditions, crafts, projects, etc, that pertain to the particular holy day. ๐Ÿ™‚

****************************************************

 

I’d recommend any of these books, if you want to enjoy reading with your children, and want to raise them with the firm foundation in Yahweh. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

One comment

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

