Carrots In The Grass: When Things Don’t Happen The Expected Way

carrots in the grass when things don't happen the expected way

This week, we replanted some 5 O’Clocks, and found carrots in the grass, and along the rock line. They have been found all over the yard, not keeping to their boundaries in the planter bed. I didn’t know carrots were little wanderers, but they are.  It rained, as we replanted the flowers, and I of course…got dirty. Muddy. It was nice to be outside and doing something, enjoying the weather as it rolled in, and out. The thunder above us, and the soft rain making the day cooler, and sweeter.

We’re home, but still without a source of income…well wait. Shall I rephrase that? God is our source at this time, it’s not of our doing, or efforts. Although Mr. S has been filling out every application he can, and we wait. This time of waiting, and trusting is stretching our faith in ways that are good. Although it’s a recipe for stress, we’re doing well (overall) in trusting God’s timing, and provisions for us.

We wait, and do things around here, like replanting things. Today, we need to dig up the carrots in the planter bed. Some are what they call, 2 year carrots. My Mom didn’t dig them up, just letting it go fallow during the winter.  It’s been raining a lot here, yesterday it flooded…which meant the children couldn’t get outside. Can we say, temper tantrums?! And now, today, since we can go out, they don’t want to stay in at all. My little muddy lovin’, dirt diggin’, ditch hoppin’ toddlers. That rain though, I’m hoping, will make it easier to dig those carrots out. Them suckers are huge and long!

Sometimes, we’re not where we expected to be, and that’s okay. We didn’t expect to be without income, at this point of being home. We didn’t expect the funds to have dwindled as they have. But again…it’s okay. The Lord God has always provided for us, and still does. I find myself in an odd state of joy in this time. I’m eagerly waiting to see what He will do for us, what this waiting and trusting time will produce. What a different mindset to have, I’m sure. It wasn’t my default mindset…but it’s the right one. Finally.

So we, along with those wondering carrots in the grass, will await our Gardener, and Provider, for the pruning, and sustaining that only He can provide.

 

**A note: Today is 46 day’s without Facebook. I should confess here, that I occasionally will peek at FB from my husbands account, and check up on a few people, and my own profile. So technically…I can’t say ‘no’ FB…but I’m still calling it, no FB. 😉 Because I can. Haha! Only 44 more days to go, so this would be the down swing.

 

Linking up Here:

 

 

Strangers and Pilgrims on Earth

Cornerstone Confessions

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

