Lingering In June

Yesterday was the last day of June. In case you didn’t know. Now you do. 

Lingering

It seems that these days go by quicker and quicker, right? Remember when we were younger, the days would drag, at least we thought so. But now, I see the days lingered…I like that word better, don’t you?

If I could remember to tell myself something, it would be to linger.

Linger of the rough mornings, long afternoons and short evenings.

Linger over the half drank coffee, slow morning sunrise and half read Bible verse.

Linger, over the sleeping heads that seek morning hugs, the bright smiles, and wiggling bodies.

Linger over the half filled boxes, dirty dishes, toy strewn floors…

lingering clouds sun flare june july

Linger…

It doesn’t have the nicest definition, poor chap. So maybe I’m using it wrong, but I’m going to keep it. 😉 According to Websters dictionary, linger means –

1
: to be slow in parting or in quitting something 
2
a :  to remain alive although gradually dying

b :  to remain existent although often waning in strength, importance, or influence 

3
:  to be slow to act 
4
:  to move slowly
Yeah, see…not really a flattering definition, is it?
But I have writer’s prerogative here, and I shall think of it as a good word for now.  I know this’ll make my literary friends cringe, if they read my blog. 😉

July

It’s July, and with it there’s Independence Day. If we were back home, we’d be planning on going to the Rodeo, and the fireworks show afterwards. It’s a special time of year, because it coincides with our first official date, my hubby and I.
July also brings the month we get to move back home! I am so excited about this, I can’t think straight.

What things do you want to linger over? What are your July plans? I plan on lingering only on my children, the rest of time can pass quickly! I want to get home! 😀 

5 comments

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

