Weekly Menu #4 – Tater Tot Bake

So, another weeks planning that has gone array. But the simple fact is, having A plan, is better than no plan. Having A plan, means when I can’t think of anything to eat, I simply look at my weeks menu, and choose what hits my fancy that night.

Last weeks hits:

1947424_10152214945054487_161367256_n

Slow Cooker Sesame-Orange Chicken, with cauli-rice. OMG. That’s all. OH EM GEEEEEEEE. 😉 I adapted it from Against All Grains, by Danielle Walker.

1780747_10152218570499487_1081193993_n

Tater Tot Bake! Recipe below. This was good, and I made enough to double the outcome, and froze the second one.

Tater Tot Bake

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups tater tots, frozen
  • 2-3 cups broccoli, chopped
  • 1-2lbs ground meat, cooked
  • 1-2 cups cheese, grated
  • Salt, ground pepper, rosemary, garlic powder, chili powder, sage. To taste. I used just a small dash of chili powder, and couldn’t taste any heat from it. 

Directions:

  1. Start meat cooking. I usually add a little water to help it cook fast. You may use oil, if you’d like too.
  2. Line bottom of baking dish with single layer of frozen tots.
  3. Mix all spices together.
  4. Grate cheese and chop broccoli.
  5. Add spices to meat once cooked completely, allow to brown just a little.
  6. Layer broccoli over tots, followed by meat and spices mix.
  7. Bake for 30-40 minutes in the oven, covered, at 325.
  8. Remove cover, add grated cheese and return to oven for about 10 minutes, until cheese is melted and bubbly.
  9. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes or so.

Serve with salad or additional steamed veggies!!

Now for the menu of the week!

Sunday- Slow Cooker Pot Roast (From Against All Grain)

Monday- Hot dogs and Tater tots

Tuesday- Leftover Roast

Wednesday- Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos(from AAG), with Simple Paleo Tortillas

Thursday- Toddler Approved Veggie Curry, with ground beef. (from AAG)

Friday- Paleo Enchiladas! 

Saturday- Free night. 😉

*I’m doing a lot of recipes from Against All Grain, simply because we usually have the items on hand now, since our dietary changes this last year. It’s amazing to open a recipe book, and point to ANY recipe and not HAVE to adapt anything to make it something we can eat. 🙂 Now I can just ‘creatively’ adapt! 😉 I will say though, that any recipe we love and have adapted to our tastes, I’ll share with y’all!

Once again, sharing my menu over here:

Jessica Lynn Writes

7 comments

  1. Tator tots with hot dogs sound… AWESOME! Love the tator tot recipe, too! I need to try a taco/crockpot recipe sometime, it sounds super easy. Loving this menu planning link up, I just started menu planning this week and I hope I can keep up with it!

    • I love easy nights, so I ‘try’ to plan a few, and then it just gets juggled around as needed! I’ve been on the menu link up for I think 4 weeks now, and I’m glad I’m still going! 🙂 It’s REALLY nice to have that encouragement! 🙂 Take it one week at a time, and set a reminder Friday(thats when I put my menu together) to do it!

  2. Haha we’ve been going through Against All Grain’s book, too! Tried the roast and liked it, and the orange chicken (I added zest and more OJ, and I’m glad I did)! Have you made those tortillas before? Tortillas are one thing I just can’t find a good recipe for (I’m super picky, though, since I grew up with homemade tortillas), but I’m reallllly missing them lately! Pinning that recipe and the enchiladas! thanks for linking up 🙂

    • We’ve made the simple paleo tortillas a few times now, and I LOVE them. I’m not ready to try the Against All Grain ones, as they have a lot of eggs in them! We tried them with the nachos the other week and then with the tacos last night. Very good stuff! 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

