Why Go Organic?

Organic?

What’s the big deal? When you put into the search engines, “why go organic” you get so many articles, blog posts and news reports that pop up. A lot of reading.  So what’s the big deal?!

The past two years or so, I’ve seen my health decline, and my pregnancies become harder. After being told that I just ‘needed to take these medications for the rest of my life’ I felt that there was something else out there. Something better, healthier. Something that might actually help stop the decline.

Going organic is one of the things that made sense, after reading up on it. It made sense, because it’s actually closer to how God intended us to eat. The organic farmers crop rotations help keep the soil healthy (thus our food is healthy!), where as the current mass produce production methods deplete the soil (thus that food is depleted!). ” For example, rather than using chemical weedkillers, organic farmers may conduct more sophisticated crop rotations and spread mulch or manure to keep weeds at bay.” and “Mono-cropping and chemical fertilizer dependency has taken a toll with a loss of top soil estimated at a cost of $40 billion per year in the U.S.,  according to David Pimental of Cornell University. Add to this an equally disturbing loss of micro nutrients and minerals in fruits and vegetables.

organic sustainable

Monster Food?

After reading about the soil depletion, I wanted to know what else I hadn’t known about organic farming and gardening. It seemed to get worse. GMO, or, Genetically Modified Organism. Y’all, we’re talking monster food. Petri-dish eats. I was beginning to feel like a lab-rat. And it’s not just food!

What is GMO? It’s “…an organism whose genetic characteristics have been altered using the techniques of genetic engineering. Scientists today have the ability to modify the genetic makeup of plants and animals, and even to transfer genes from one species to another.” (source)

Here’s some common forms of genetic modification:

  • Cloning
  • Genetically modifying products and food given to livestock
  • Giving plants herbicide or pesticide resistant properties
  • Mixing genes to make new foods
  • Adding genes to plants to make them hardier(source)

So great, right? So it’s not just the plants we need to worry about, it’s the animals too! (another topic for another time, that one!) And mixing genes for new foods? I don’t want new food, I want HEALTHY simple food. I want the food that God made for my body. Not something made in labs…

Next Generation

So now I’m thinking, what about my kids? Their food sources in the future don’t look all that promising. Maybe I’m being alarmist. Maybe I’m not. But I do know that we can’t improve upon God’s work. So why are we using methods that rob us of the things our bodies need to work and survive, in favor of cross-mutations, chemical resistant organisms  and food laden with chemicals banned in other countries for the cancers, infertility issues, and other illnesses they cause? It makes me feel as though the government doesn’t care.

Cutting Out The Middle Man

When we lived in Arizona, we shared a farm share with my Mom. I’d load the kids into the car weekly, and trek out to ‘our’ farm, pick up our yummy produce, and visit the farm animals, people and crops. Get our hands dirty, and ask how the week’s been. I personally loved seeing the farm kids. They would usually be naked. 😉 Nothing cuter than children allowed to run free on the farm, and enjoy a simple life.

I hope that we can either grow our own organic foods, find a good source, or buy a CSA share (Consumer Supported Agriculture) this next year. We’ve already got a pile of pallets to build garden beds from! Exciting adventures ahead. 😉 But even if we can’t grow enough to fully rely on ourselves, having the local farmers to support means many things: it helps the local economy(which is always good!), it means fresh, healthy produce, and so much more.

Conclution

Organic is expensive. With our tiny budget, it seems daunting. But with these (and many other reasons not listed), it seems the better course of action would be to invest in the health now, and not have to pay the doctors later. So much of what I’ve read reminds me of how wonderfully God has made the systems of the earth, AND the human bodies system. Our food is meant to be eaten fresh, whole, without fear of it somehow causing harm. There are some studies out now, that GMO food is the culprit in many of the ‘epidemics’ of illnesses and autoimmune diseases.(source)(source) And lastly, it’s strongly related to the gluten intolerance rise as well.

So, for my family? Choosing organic means choosing foods that have nutrients in them, have been grown in diverse environments which leads to incredible taste, supports the local economy, makes me voice heard by where the money goes, and supports a sustainable future (a healthy one!) for my children.

Full Resource List:

  1. http://www.organic.org/articles/showarticle/article-206
  2. http://www.ota.com/organic_and_you/10reasons.html
  3. http://www.reneeloux.com/green_living/top_10_reasons_to_go_organic/   (this page has MANY further resources!)
  4. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/organic-food/NU00255 (another great resource! Even compares organic with non organic)
  5. http://www.princeton.edu/greening/organic4.htm
  6. http://organic.lovetoknow.com/GMO_Statistics
  7. http://rt.com/usa/gmo-gluten-sensitivity-trigger-343/
  8. http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2012/08/07/genetically-engineered-foods-hazards.aspx
  9. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1070817/

What are your reasons? Is there something I left out, that you’d like to add? Another source I should know about? Thank you! I’d love to hear from you.

2 comments

  1. I think when you begin to simplify your life – in the area of foods – it just naturally begins to cause you to look at every aspect of your life and simplify there as well. I know this journey we’ve been on has been a challenge, but it’s been fun as well.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

