For The Love of…

…it’s been 5 days.

5 long…and lonely…days of no Facebook. Y’all. I miss it. I miss you! I miss…(sigh). But what did I gain so far?

More time with the kids, getting things done around here. And I have to admit, I jumped on twitter a bit more than normal. (need to cut that in the end right now!) More time researching health, nutrition, and other topics along those lines.

I have a personal victory of being at a weight I haven’t seen in years! In fact, my own darling man hasn’t known me this weight either! I should be more happy about this than I am.

leaky gut gluten intolerance health healing

But I don’t feel healthier.

I don’t feel better.

I still feel tired, weak, foggy, unfocused, depressed, down, itchy skin…and more that I won’t share for the sake of propriety. So my focus, what I can utilize of it, is spent nowadays on how to get healthy. How to heal my body, feed it the right things, give it the right ‘mix’ of food, sunlight, rest, sleep, stress relief, and most importantly God.

With so many diets claiming to heal the gut out there, it can be quiet frustrating and overwhelming to consider which one to tackle. So here I am…probably going to wing it. Unlike with my faith, which is ALL Almighty God being the sole God…my food path will probably be a little of this and a little of that. I’m going to use what makes sense to me, after all that I’ve read and heard and poured over.

Things like:

  • Plenty of vegetables, and fruits.(Organic)
  • Grass fed beef, free ranged chicken, wild caught fish, etc.
  • Healthy fats, like coconut oil, raw butter, olive oil.
  • Adding Lacto-fermented foods
  • Making nourishing bone broths
  • Limited nuts and seeds. (Need to try soaking them, sounds fun!)
  • Limiting sweets to mainly fruits, followed by raw honey, and 100% pure maple syrup. (molasses too)
  • Nothing that is highly processed and packaged.
  • No grains (For me, it’s not just the gluten that bothers me, but all grains I’ve found)
  • No dairy (for now, then I’ll be adding it in, to see how it does. RAW or as close as I can get)

I don’t like eliminating full food groups, but after all of the reading, and research from renowned doctors on these subjects, I’m convinced that for me, staying away from grains is going to have to be a lifetime choice.

There are a few things, not related to food, that I know I also need to focus on. Such as:

  • Recognizing stressful situations and eliminating them, or finding ways to de-stress them.
  • Getting enough sleep.
  • Enjoy the outdoors and soak up some vitamin D.
  • Laugh more.
  • Forgive often.
  • Pray always.

Seems simple, huh? It all adds up to some even bigger changes in the year ahead. One that I pray will make for a healthier me and family. I tried to tell myself I wasn’t going to share this journey with you. Thought, why would you want to know this?! It can’t possibly interest you…

But maybe it does, or will. Or you know someone who deals with the things I’ll be reading about. Talking about.

Ultimately, God is my Healer. This I know, and this I pray for often, that He helps me through this. But He’s given me a brain, and while right now that brain is buried underneath a lot of fog, scattered focus and depression, I know that the steps I take now, will help in the long run.

Small steps.

Baby steps.

This is a lifelong journey, not something that will happen overnight. (though many days I wish it would!)

I also want to talk about this, because I feel like no one believes that Hashimoto’s or Gluten Intolerance is a big deal. But they are. Oh, yeah…they are. It’s an all out attack on ones body. Your body attacks itself for one reason or another, but usually it’s triggered by foods or outside stress.

So welcome to my life. Instead of just faith talkin’ here…we’re going on a health journey. And all that that will entail: growing veggies, making my own lacto fermented foods and drinks, being frugal to afford the healing foods, etc.

 

Here’s to health and joy in the new year!

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. So funny, because my facebook has been having a conversation around the quote from the podcast I listened to earlier. Refined sugar is the most addictive substance of all-more addictive that cocaine, morphine and heroin. ~Dr. Pamela Peeke

    It has spurred quite a conversation. It also reminds me that I need to take better care of the body God has given me. It reminded me of this scripture: And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown. Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air. But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified. 1 Corinthians 9:25-27

    And how I felt I needed to make that a focus back in June as I wrote about it, http://bit.ly/1h4T7If, and then never really followed through with it.

    • This is an area that so many people struggle with, it’s overwhelming and shocking. I knew the scriptures that say gluttony is bad. But did I call it on myself? No…I think this is actually the first time I’ve said, I struggle with gluttony. It’s easy to just buy and shovel in whatever I can. Instead of thinking about the food, and giving thanks with each bite, and…also praying over each bite. That’s all part of my plan for the new year…to be more aware, and intentional. šŸ˜‰

  2. Hey my sweet sis .. I panicked today when I saw your facebook account was deactivated then I asked Kathy Holland if you were ok but got no answer then I remembered ‘EMAIL’ I just saw one from you so here I am. I wanted to share two things .. first for your itchy skin .. try adding coconut oil to your hot drinks .. if you have the one that doesn’t have the taste of coconut (Coconut Oil, Expeller Pressed RBD, Certified Organic) then it won’t add it to the drink, it’s great in teas and it really helps with moisturizing your skin from the inside out .. I also keep a small jar in the bathroom for when my skin is really dry and use it after a shower – Second is a website I am ordering my coconut oil from .. I just noticed several other items that are interesting and then I saw the gluten free flour .. so here’s that site http://www.wildernessfamilynaturals.com/category/new-products.php I am happy things are going better – and sorry for the other issues .. sweetheart with the world as it is today it’s hard not to get frustrated with all that is out of our control .. I am trying to bring my focus in a bit to see if that help me .. remember date nights for just you two .. I love you and will stop ‘Mom’in you now. All my love and all my prayers are always yours Janiene Date: Sat, 28 Dec 2013 17:14:38 +0000 To: chrysalises@msn.com

    • Janiene,
      Thanks for the site! I use coconut oil in so many things, it’s replaced butter, since we usually can’t tolerate dairy these days. šŸ˜¦ I miss the taste of butter. lol

      I love it when you Mom me though!

      I kind of just went poof on Facebook, huh. Was just a little overwhelmed and tired of it, knew it was a huge focus for me, that shouldn’t be! I hope to be back…sometime next year. (haha! Love that I can say that and it’s only a few days away!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

