My Must Haves For Cleaning

Shortly before Young Sir was born, I didn’t want the normal household cleaners in the house. You know the ones, things like Bleach. I didn’t like that the labels would inevitably say something along the lines of, “Warning: Must have proper ventilation, DO NOT use in enclosed/tiny spaces” Yeah. Makes you all warm and fuzzy about using said cleaner, right??

There had to be something better out there.

And there is! After much reading, searching and talking to my Mom and others who remembered the ‘days before commercial cleaners’ took over,  here is what I’ve used, and the ways I use each one! 🙂 I hope this helps you, in moving past the chemicals, which are not healthy for us, no matter what they say! 😉

So what did I find?

 

1.) White Vinegar: This is used for so many things. I use it as a window cleaner, surface cleaner, disinfectant, smell killer,  and so many more!

2.) Baking Soda: This is another power house! A scrub for counter tops, toilets, tubs, floors, clothes, etc.

3.) Lemon: The juice, zest and oils. This helps with smells, also it’s a mood lifter, and great cleaning agent.

4.) Hydrogen Peroxide: There’s a few stories out that this had been used in field hospitals back in the day, to disinfect, sterilize and clean. I know from personal use that it gets out SO many stains, blood, food, oil/grease, poop(we’re cloth diapering again). It also boosts the bathroom cleaner. Though a word about this, you have to have the darker (non opaque) bottles!

5.) Washing Soda: I use this solely in part of my homemade laundry soap. It’s great and easy on my diapers.

6.) Borax: Again, mostly in the laundry mixture I make.

7.) Oxi-clean: my laundry booster, so I can save the liquid HP for other things!

8.) Essential Oils: Besides making the cleaner smell great, they have so many benefits used straight, or with a carrier oil. These would be your choice, but what I have are: Lemon, Orange, Grapefruit, Cinnamon, Lavender, Eucalyptus, Peppermint, Rosemary, Clarey Sage, Tea Tree Oil, and more.

 

Of course with making your own cleaners, you’ll need things like bottles, spray bottles, and other containers to hold your mixtures in. I have bottles and spray bottles in every ‘cleaning’ area. I.E. kichen, laundry room, bathroom and hall closet.

***A special note about Blue Dawn. Many people who want to stay away from the chemical cleaners, will still use blue dawn. You can mix it with some of the above mentioned items, and have a strong cleaner. I have a small bottle on hand, in case something needs a HUGE clean up, then a few drops of the dawn is all I need. I generally try to stay away from it for regular use though. ***

 

So that’s it! Oh, wait.

I promised some recipes didn’t I? Okay then…keep reading!

 

Laundry Soap:

1 Box Washing Soda

1 Box Borax

2 cups Oxi-clean

1 cup Baking Soda

Mix all together, and store in air tight container. Use between 2-4 tablespoons per load of wash. *I will also use an extra scoop of oxi if the load needs it

 

Bathroom Cleaner:

1 part vinager

1 part water

1 part hydrogen peroxide.

Mix together and place in dark spray bottle. *I usually add some of the following essential oils, lemon, tea tree, orange or rosemary. These ones leave the bathroom smelling fresh.

 

General Cleaner

(for tables, counters, door knobs, floor cleaner, etc)

2 parts vinegar

10 drops Lemon EO

2 parts water

1 tablespoon Borax

I use warm water, so the borax will dissolve, then add everything else into a spray bottle. I shake before using!

 

A few last words:

I don’t use exact measurements, because sometimes my bottles aren’t completely empty. SO I just make sure my ratio’s are about right. The good thing about these items, is that you won’t blow up the house if they are ‘mixed wrong’. Though I have a word about mixing vinegar and baking soda together, it expands and fizzes a LOT! It’s fun and harmless, but could make a huge mess, if you’re not prepared! Ahem. 😉

What do YOU use in your home, to clean? Am I missing anything?

2 comments

  1. Hydrogen peroxide should be sprayed directly on the counter and not dried off but left to air dry.
    1/3 vinegar and 2/3 water make a solution that will defrost windshields.
    🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

