Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!

Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!

Diaper needs changing?

Ain’t nobody got time for that,

I need to see what Betty Sue is doing on Facebook today!

Noses need wiping, children are cryin’ and dinner is burnin?

Ain’t nobody got time for that!

I need to check the status of the Smithsons in their public feud!

Laundry is backed up, dishes are falling off of the counter,

Ain’t nobody got time for that!

I have to make the next level in (insert game here)!

I ain’t got time for life around me,

Who’s going to ‘like’ or side with the Mrs. or Mr in that fight or this fight?

Who’s going to make that next awesome level of XYZ game?!

Ain’t got time for family, house and home.

Ain’t got time for messy children, needy in their love and wants.

Ain’t got time for…

Wait.

What was that you said?

Yes, I know I’m the Mom. The Wife.

The Homemaker.

What?

So what if I am?

No…it’s not my responsibility to take care of things.

Of course someone else will do it…

What?

Who?

Well, my husband of course…and…

Oh, alRIGHT. Fine.

But what about ME time?

What about what I want?

What about…ME.

**this is called satire. In case you don’t know it, it’s defined as, “the use of humor, irony, exaggeration, or ridicule to expose and criticize people’s stupidity or vices, particularly in the context of contemporary politics and other topical issues.”

It’s recently come to my own attention, just how much time I spend face to face with a 15 inch screen, instead of three {four if you count the furry cat} faces that are precious to me.

Today in Sunday school, I admitted to my lack of attention to the family. To the needs and wants of my own kin. I have been struggling with the lure of all things, computer/internet. I’m going to assume that many to struggle with this…I’d like to think I wasn’t alone, though it also makes me a little sad to know I’m not alone.

Life moves at an ever quickening pace these days, and I long for the days that were slower. Less plugged in. Less ‘screened’ up. I long for the simple times, and though I know they had their own hardships, I can admire the family connectedness, community and fellowship that seemed more prevalent in those eras.

I want that now.

But I don’t know how to do that now.

So I’m searching, praying, seeking…researching. Only God knows where this will take me{us}.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

