He Comes To Steal!

rest trust seeking finding God faith worries stress anxious

{Originally written September 26, 2013}

Last night a tire went flat, while my Mr.S was driving to work. Today, our rent is due. We need to pay some bills, and get food. I have a ladies retreat I’ve been looking forward too, this weekend. And the money isn’t there. {worry} I went to sleep just fine, but woke up early, really early, because I was stressed out, worrying over this. {stress} I knew that I shouldn’t worry; so getting up I went to God, to His word and my journal. I wasn’t going to sleep anyways, so why not be at His feet and know His peace would come?

But it’s hard. It’s hard to choose His peace, over my worry. I need to control. It’s hard to look beyond the sum in our bank account, and trust that He’ll provide what we need, through the abundant love He has for us. {by the time this post goes live, we’ll have seen His hand through this, I am hopeful that I can add an update!} It’s hard…to see that this is what we must face regularly, knowing that His hand will provide for us.

This morning, in my quiet time, I came to this realization: Rest = peace. Peace = security. Security is found in Him alone, because He holds ALL things in His hands.

Hebrews 11:1, “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.”

My enemy wants to steal my joy, my peace, my security and my faith. He wants to steal my rest. But…BUT…Nothing can separate me from Him, my blessed Redeemer, my Abba Father, my Savior. My Breath of Life and Living Water.

Romans 8:37-39, “But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

So here I am, standing on these promises, and the knowledge that He’s provided before, and WILL again. My eyes once more firmly focused on Him. My worry and stress placed squarely at His feet, and my hope assured in His Word.

Your task today: I have nothing, but just rest. Keep seeking His peace as it is truly the ONLY sort of rest and security that is stable, and true. All else, ALL ELSE, is false and fades away.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

