A Heart Like His

Today, I have a guest writer! Let me introduce a wonderful, sweet woman, Amber. I ‘met’ her on Twitter and I love seeing her tweets. They encourage me, and lately, we’ve been having some good, short conversations! Please welcome her! Without further ado!

*****

A Heart like His

One of my favorite questions to ask people is “What is God teaching you right now?” When debating what to write for this guest post, I thought, well, I might as well share what is on my heart right now, because it’s fresh. And because it has been rocking my world.

I have never been much of a reader, but in the past couple of years if you were to ask me, I am always in the middle of some new read. I don’t know when it started, it came on gradually I guess, but as soon as I finish one book, I pick up another. I just finished reading Max Lucado’s “Cast of Characters.” There were tons of life-changing truths throughout the whole book, but one that I can not shake is a statement about Jesus:

He had ample time for the happy-hour crowd, but little time for clergy and the holy “upper crust”. Click to tweet!

This single sentence did something to me. God came to earth and He chose to spend His time with nobodies, in the eyes of society. He wasn’t trying to catch the attention of popular people, He did not only hang out with spiritually sound people or exclusively His friends, He didn’t reveal His deity to the churchy people and the “big hitters” of religion. He came to those who needed Him. This statement instantly took me to the verse: Jesus said to them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick… Mark 2:17

Honestly when I just started on twitter I wanted big hitters of the faith & popular bloggers to follow me, and have always thought it would be amazing to meet great authors and speakers. I don’t think there is anything wrong with any of those hopes, but if that’s my focus, do I really have the heart that Jesus had for people?

Or how about going to a party, an event or even church where I just can’t wait to see and hang out with my friends, but I fail to talk to the lonely woman whom everyone keeps looking past. The statement from the book pierced my spirit, not in a condemning way, but as a challenge and softening in my heart to understand and live for what His heart beats for: people. People that are desperate for His love and grace.

It inspired me to really take a step back and look at my life. Has it been at times opposite of the statement from the book? Have I only had time for “the upper crust” and little time for the sick, the hurting, those in need? I want to have the heart of Christ & serve and love like He did. I want what was important to Him, be important to me. I want to say as Jesus did: “For I have come….not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me.” John 6:38

 

amber guest post

Hi, I am Amber, I am so thankful for the opportunity to be a guest on here today. I’m your average mommy, living life, cooking meals, playing make believe, hanging out with my hubs, drinking lots of coffee so all this is possible and I just can’t get enough of Jesus! You can find me over at Graceeveryday.org where I team up with other ladies to “Spread the good news of God’s Grace” and at my personal blog Season The Day (seasontheday.blogspot.com) where I blog about faith, family and food. I am excited to be writing and encouraging your readers today, thank you Peggy!

3 comments

  1. I love this because it is so true, it is easy to get caught up in talking to those who are similar and if we are not careful we will overlook those who are hurting.

    • I agree, Deanna, and I find I am sometimes oblivious to it. I’m trying to pray about it more and ask God to show me where he wants me spending my time & who with. As a song I like goes “Give me your eyes for just one second, give me your eyes so I can see, everything that I keep missing, give me your love for humanity.” Thanks for sharing 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

