Wives of The Bible Book Release!

**Disclosure: I was not financially compensated for this post. However, I received this book for free for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my own experience.**
Wives of The Bible

To purchase her book, follow think link. She’s self published, and THAT is a story in and of itself! 😉

Watch the trailer found on the above link, and it’ll tell you her heart for this book.

I have been following Jolene for a little over two years now, and I’m so excited that she’s done this study. You can find her writing over at her blog, Jolene Engle @ The Alabaster Jar, where she loves to encourage other women in their walk.

Now about this book, where do I start?! It’s an easy read, she writes with a quick, to the point style that carries you through many wives of the Bible, such as Eve, Sarai, Michal, Herodias, and more, for a total of 25 wives. Each wife has her own chapter, and Jolene sets it up as a devotional style. You can read it through in one sitting, as I did, or you may choose to take each wife, and meditate on what He would have you learn from her life, Jolene gives thoughtful points and applications at the end of each chapter so that you may do so.

First the nuts and bolts of this study book:

It’s 100 pages long, 25 chapters with a conclusion chapter. Each chapter is a lesson and focuses on one wife from the Bible. Jolene’s purpose in writing this for us, “...to grow in the Lord and grow in your marriage.”

She breaks the wives down into three groups; wives who didn’t make the best choices, wives whose lives were hard and suffered hardships, and lastly, wives who made wise choices.

*****

I have so many quotes from this book that I’d love to share, but it would end up reading just like the book itself! I plan on buying this in book form, so I may go through it and savor the chapters better.

You’ll read about wives who have been broken, bitter, angry, and proud, while others who were radical, redeemed, discerning, and transformed. Each wife has a story to tell and within each biblical story is a lesson to learn and an application given to apply to your own life.” ~Introduction~

“Although the world discounts the worth of a Godly wife, the Lord sees otherwise.  The first woman He ever created, He created as a wife.  As wives, we have a remarkable purpose for the Kingdom of God. ” ~ Wife of Influence

“As hard as it might be for you, don’t let your pride keep you from following your man’s leadership.  Submit to him, but not his sin.~ The Disrespectful Wife

“Conclusion 
Many times throughout the writing of this book I would mention to you about taking certain paths in your marriage while avoiding other ones.  Reason being is because of what I’ve gleaned in the book of Proverbs.  On numerous occasions Proverbs will mention the ‘wise man’ and the ‘foolish man’.  A simple definition of the two:  a wise man is someone who fears the Lord and a foolish man is someone who doesn’t fear the Lord.  Because we are Godly wives, seeking to please our Savior, it’s always best to take the wise path, but the wise path is not always the easiest one to take, sometimes it might require us to take copious amounts of dark chocolate and iced mochas with us while we walk (or crawl) this path!  
In my life, I’m doing the best I can to walk The Narrow Path but I must tell you, I have grown weary, I’ve been wounded, I’ve wondered where my Savior was when I needed a reprieve from all my trials, and I’ve even wandered, but I’ve learned to keep on, keeping on. The Narrow Path is the only path that will lead to a flourishing marriage. 
Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.  Psalm 119:105 
Friend, it is my hope and prayer that you’ll remain steadfast on The Narrow Path as well.

*****

This book has blessed me so much, I pray you consider adding it to your library! You won’t be sorry.

If you’ve enjoyed this book review, click here for more!

Subscribe to our mailing list

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

