#ISaidYes & So Did My Husband

couple baptisim together faith trust

We’d both been baptized before, however for one reason or another we’d come to the conclusion (separately) that it wasn’t right. So we took the step together. For our own walk of faith, and one for our marriage together. We needed the outside steps of faith that were happening inside.

Before we entered the water, I spent time on my knees, in front of my Lord. Crying, praising and seeking Him. For this man, I’ve prayed. I have been blessed to not see years pass, decades, before his heart was changed. I know how blessed I am. I remember my Mom’s years of silent appeal to God, for the sake of my Dad. I know there are women out there who have prayed for years, through much worse hardships, for the hearts of their husbands. In those moments before I got into the water, I thought of them. My heart heavy with their burdens, and praying for them to be encouraged, strengthened.

I prayed that we would be faithful to Him, and Christ like to each other, our children, and those we come across daily. I was overwhelmed by the blessings we’ve had since moving here. I gave thanks for them, and am excited to see what comes next.

hubby baptisim faith leader

Before we entered the water, we stood in the wings, with it between us. I motioned to him that I wanted us to pray ‘together’. So we reached out our hands, and bowed our heads. Praying together, but separate. I am amazed at the heart of my husband. I’m reminded often how soft and caring it is. How beautifully made he is. His smile still lights up my heart, when he holds my hand, I feel safe. Loved.

That day, after our baptism, we also had the Lords Supper. Before it, however, our pastor opened up the alter, for us to lay anything before God, before we partook of the communion. I asked my darling if he wanted to go down and lay the beginning of our marriage at His feet. He nodded, so we went. With tears in our eyes, we prayed…releasing the guilt, the shame and the burden that wasn’t ours to carry. Together, we left it at His feet, in His care.

Our pastor was quick to tell us that the Lords Supper wasn’t something to take lightly. If we weren’t right before God, don’t participate. If we didn’t believe, don’t participate. He reminded us that if we didn’t take the communion in the right spirit, we’d be drinking condemnation on ourselves. So we examined our hearts, and partook. (Another little blessing was that the bread was gluten free. A few people, including myself, cannot have it, so the pastor and elders blessed us that couldn’t.)

wife follower leader faith

A little explanation of the shirts. My darling hubby loves Superman. While I’m not a huge fan, I’m more of the Batman girl, I love that the huge S stands for Spencer as well. So I choose to match my hubby and we got a few chuckles from the pastor and the congregation. 😉

One of my personal decisions in doing this with him, was to declare to myself and the Lord that I was embracing the role of His daughter, Mr. S’s wife and mother. That I was choosing to walk in faith and submit to Mr. S’s leadership role, and walk together in faith before the Lord. He’s been preparing my heart for this over the last year or so. I still have a ways to go, but the Lord is faithful to complete it!

baptisim together faith for God

Psalms 118:17-21

17 I will not die, but live,
And tell of the works of the Lord.
18 The Lord has disciplined me severely,
But He has not given me over to death.

19 Open to me the gates of righteousness;
I shall enter through them, I shall give thanks to the Lord.
20 This is the gate of the Lord;
The righteous will enter through it.
21 I shall give thanks to You, for You have answered me,
And You have become my salvation.

Post ending Love, Peggy

Linked up at:
P31 OBS Blog Hop

16 comments

  1. Peggy your story brought a few happy tears to my eyes this morning. So glad I selected this one to read or was it God???? For sure such a beautiful story to share and pass down in generations to come. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

    • Aww {hands you some tissues} I’m glad they are happy tears! I would say it was God. Nothing is coincidence with Him. 😉 Thank you for sharing with me, it means a lot.

  2. Thank you for sharing your beautiful story. I celebrate the new life you and your Mr. S have claimed together in Jesus Christ.
    I have been praying for my husband for 34 years. As long as he lives I will not give up on Him being saved.
    Lord bless Peggy and her husband as they now seek to live for You and honor You in their lives and marriage. Guide them along the paths that You have prepared for them to fulfill the dreams You have for their lives. draw them ever closer to You. In Jesus’ name, amen.

    • Thank you my sweet sister. I want to encourage you as well. Keep running the race, my friend. He has a good plan. Thank you for stopping to pray for us. We both appreciate it.

  3. I am forever grateful to God Most High that He gifted me with you. And in turn, you gifted me with my son-in-love, your Mr. S!

  4. omgosh! I love this post so much! First of all congrats! What a wonderful commitment to each other and to Christ. My boyfriend and I are praying that he might be baptized soon. He is new to church but not new to Christ and has really wanted to be baptized but is fearful, but i’m going to show him this and encourage him that we must keep praying, going to church, and fellowship. I know God will do marvelous things in our lives! Thank you for your story! Amazing!

    • Keri,

      Thank you!! I’m so glad this has encouraged you, and I pray your boyfriends fear goes away. Fear is not of the Lord. 2 Timothy 1:7 For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

